The Tricky Blog!

Here is a look at some of the Michigan Gubernatorial Candidates for the 2010 Election and my early predictions.

Posted in News & Entertainment by trickyd313 on February 18, 2010

Democratic Party

Announced

Virg Bernero, Mayor of Lansing – I think the Mayor of Lansing can put on a formidable campaign

Alma Wheeler Smith, member of the Michigan House of Representatives – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Formally exploring

Andy Dillon, Speaker of the Michigan House of Representatives – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Potential

Jim Barcia, former United States Congressman and current member of the Michigan Senate – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Dan Kildee, former Genesee County Treasurer – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Daniel Mulhern, Michigan’s First Gentleman – I am glad he is known as Michigan’s First Gentleman and not the First Dude.

George Perles, former Michigan State University head football coach – I do not know this person but I do not think that the voters of Michigan will elect the MSU Football Coach

Debbie Stabenow, United States Senator – Stands a good chance.  May have to defend Senate voting record against opponents that did not have to make tough votes in Congress.

Don Williamson, Former Mayor of Flint – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Withdrew

Robert Bowman, former Michigan treasurer (ended exploratory bid on 02-15-2010)

John Cherry, Lieutenant Governor (Ended exploratory bid on 01-05-2010)

John Freeman, former member of the Michigan House of Representatives (Ended bid on 01-11-2010)

Hansen Clarke, member of the Michigan Senate (Ended bid on 01-15-2010)

Declined

Dennis Archer, Former Detroit Mayor ruled out a gubernatorial run on November 20, 2008.

David Bonior, former United States Congressman from Michigan

Joe Dumars, Detroit Pistons President of Basketball Operations

Robert A. Ficano, Wayne County Executive

Mark Hackel, Macomb County Sheriff

Denise Ilitch, University of Michigan Regent

Bart Stupak, United States Congressman

It would seem that the Michigan Democratic Party does not have a clear candidate to run for Governor.  My early favorites are Robert A. Ficano, Wayne County Executive

Mark Hackel, Macomb County Sheriff both who have declined to run and Senator Debbie Stabenow who has not entered the race yet.  There is one other that was my favorite to run list but you have to look at another blog for that name.  (I look forward to your argument after you read that.)

Republican Party

Announced

Mike Bouchard, Oakland County Sheriff – Stands a good chance.

Mike Cox, Michigan Attorney General – The front-runner so far (The Kwame Connection wont hurt him.)

Tom George, Michigan State Senator – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Peter Hoekstra, U.S. Congressman – Will have to defend some very tough positions

David R. Kniffen, entrepreneur and inventor – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Timothy Rujan, Huron County Commissioner – I do not know this person.  I need to do more research.

Rick Snyder, businessman – Has a good chance opposing Mike Cox.  So far campaign does not say which party he is in.  This could confuse voters that are not paying attention.

Withdrew

Terri Lynn Land, Michigan Secretary of State. She is running for Lieutenant Governor as Mike Bouchard‘s running mate

Potential

Candice Miller, Member of Congress – Has a chance at splitting the Republican vote.  May need to sign on as Lt Gov Candidate.

Ted Nugent, entertainer – Uncle Ted stands no chance.  (Thank for seeing me off before I went to Iraq.)

Joe Schwarz, Former Republican Member of Congress, 2002 Republican Candidate for Governor

Declined

Dick DeVos, 2006 Republican Nominee

L. Brooks Patterson, Oakland County Executive

Dave Brandon, Domino Pizza CEO

Obviously, I believe that there are more viable Republican candidates than Democratic candidates.  And ultimately I believe that Michigan is headed for having a Republican Governor.  You need to do your part to research the candidates and vote your preference.  This state depends on it.  (See the other blog about a brief history of Michigan v Federal Administrations.

Also there are usually two launch pads to become Governor of a state.  Being Lt Governor and being State’s Attorney General.  So who do you think will be the next Governor of the Great State of Michigan?

Leave a Reply

